Whonix ™ Factory Reset
Users sometimes ask how they can reset their system -- this is called
factory reset.  Two major methods exist.
- Re-install method: Delete Whonix ™ -- or just delete VMs intended for factory reset -- and re-install the most recent (stable) version of Whonix ™. This is a "cleaner" and more comprehensive method which will return the system to near vendor defaults. However, this option is less convenient as important user data must first be migrated (if applicable).  See also Upgrade vs Image Re-Installation.
- Reset settings method: This will reset settings to vendor defaults as much as possible. This method is imperfect and cannot undo all user modifications or solve all issues.
- Operating System Software and Updates
- Disaster Recovery after Compromise
- Upgrade vs Image Re-Installation
In the Whonix ™ case it is not really a
factory resetbecause at the time of writing the platform is software-only and not hardware-related. Therefore, strictly speaking no factory defaults exist. However,
vendor settings resetis harder for users to understand and
factory resethas a nicer ring to it.
- In case of Whonix-Gateway ™: Tor Entry Guards.